[Gaming] Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings

This is a quote from the NA Square-Enix website:

FINAL FANTASY XII REVENANT WINGS™
Platform: Nintendo DS

ESRB Rating: Not Yet Rated
Release Date: Coming this Winter

Following the story of the beloved classic that captivated more than 5 million players around the world, FINAL FANTASY XII REVENANT WINGS continues the tale that won numerous accolades from the industry’s top publications. Developed exclusively for the Nintendo DS, FINAL FANTASY XII REVENANT WINGS is an all-new experience that makes full use of the Nintendo DS’s unique features. Featuring full Touch Screen functionality, FINAL FANTASY XII REVENANT WINGS allows players to control massive armies, unleash special moves and activate Gambits, all with the use of the stylus. The world of Ivalice comes alive through the respected musical stylings of Hitoshi Sakimoto and the direction of Motomu Toriyama, the director of FINAL FANTASY X-2 and the upcoming FINAL FANTASY XIII.”

WOOHOO!! Being the loser that I am, I JUST checked Square’s website to see when this was scheduled to be released. (This was their May 16, 2007 news… I guess I’m a bit late. ^^; ) The ending of Final Fantasy XII was just left too open for my tastes (not that it was bad—I just want more Balthier/Fran..er.. I mean.. story….), so I’m glad the sequel will be coming out relatively soon. This is basically the reason why I wanted a DS so badly for Christmas!

But–

I am nervous that the director of my beloved FFXII:RW was directed by Motomu Toriyama… If he was responsible for the so-called “game” Final Fantasy X-2, then we are in some trouble. That “game’s” sole purpose was fan-service, and, needless to say, I was not serviced nor impressed. Then again, I guess it wasn’t ALL Toriyama-san’s fault. The American voice actresses could have stepped up their performances a notch… but that’s another story. (*gags at the thought of Hedy Burress* She totally butchered Yuna… but I digress.) My hopes for FFXII:RW still remain high as I have discovered that nearly anything can be entertaining when it is on the DS. I mean.. I played Nintendogs for three hours for crying out loud. Dx

However, this is not necessarily going to be a FFX-2 repeat. FFXII:RW is geared towards strategy and completing battles on smaller battlegrounds to advance the plot. Basically it’s just like Final Fantasy Tactics with a touchscreen. I normally am not one for strategy games like this, but I will give it a shot. Now, keep in mind that Square still kept the flavors of Final Fantasy XII in its sequel… since everything is still in REAL time.


Chotto matteyo… Wait a minute… Back the truck up…

We have to strategically move our little players around a battle field, kill all the minions, defeat the boss, use our summons, attack, heal, and use attack magic all in REAL TIME?! NO TURNED BASED?! NO WAI!!

Yes wai.

Dadada daaa~! The gambit system is back, folks! And praise the Baby Jesus, because I think I’d have an anurism if I had to do all that AND keep my sanity. There are many descriptions of gambits, so I’m not going to explain it. Go to Wikipedia… they have the answer to everything. *rolls eyes*

Anywayyyyy…. yes so all that good stuff plus the coolness of a dual-screen handheld system with a cute lil’ stylus. So put it on your Christmas list… This is gonna be a fun game, y’all. (:

Sources: IGN, Official Japanese Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings Website

1 Response to “[Gaming] Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings”


  1. 1 ~lol~rence July 31, 2007 at 7:01 am

    ive played this in japanese, and even though i cant undretstand jap, the gameplay is very simple to learn just by watching the signals and symbols that indicate

    the gameplay is similar to starcraft/warcraft. the gameplay is very nice, i like it, but the graphics couldve been better

    fmv cutscenes are quite nicely done

    worthy of purchasing


Leave a comment